Click Here to Login!
Stay Connected.
Chambliss, Isakson, Kingston and Scott Honored for Pro-Business Efforts
by Chamber News on April 17th, 2013

Spirit of Enterprise Award is Given to Select Group of Legislators for 25th Year

The U.S. Chamber of Commerce today honored 252 members of the House and 48 members of the Senate with the annual Spirit of Enterprise Award for their support of pro-jobs, pro-growth policies during the second session of the 112th Congress. Among those recipients were U.S. Senators Saxby Chambliss and Johnny Isakson, along with Congressmen Jack Kingston and Austin Scott.

“This recognition is great news for the Valdosta-Lowndes County business community as all of our elected officials were honored,” said Ron Borders, Valdosta-Lowndes Chamber Government Affairs Council Chair. “We visit our legislators in D.C. each year to present our Federal Legislative agenda and this shows they are listening to the needs of our business community.”

The U.S. Chamber’s prestigious Spirit of Enterprise Award, in its 25th year, is given annually to members of Congress based on key business issues outlined in the publication How They Voted. Members who support the U.S. Chamber’s position on at least 70 percent of those votes qualify to receive the award.

The U.S. Chamber scored Congress on 8 Senate and 12 House votes in 2012, including reauthorization of the Export-Import Bank of the United States, the establishment of Permanent Normal Trade Relations (PNTR) with Russia, and the reauthorization of surface transportation legislation. Also scored were votes to repeal onerous provisions in the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, improve the process by which regulations are promulgated, and better secure the United States from cyber threats.

To view a complete list of the 2012 Spirit of Enterprise recipients, please visit

Posted in not categorized    Tagged with no tags